I Should Have Known Better

I was visiting Italy in the spring. Yes, yes I know, I’ve been thinking of telling you this story since then, but somehow I seem to not have gotten into it. Don’t ask me what I’ve done, because I am not able to explain it – I am not even sure if I know it myself.

Well during my visit to Italy I was a bit lonely. I would love to be one of those happy lonely cowboys, who don’t need others to keep their company, but eating alone in the restaurants is a bit boring and there are moments, when you’re longing for company. I met several nice Italian people on my way around and had a lot of good time.

Yet I have to admit I was a bit lonely. Maybe not because of the trip – maybe because some of the things that were happening in my life around that time. First night I bought some arancini lovely fried rice balls and went to my hotel room to feel sorry for my self.

I’ve learned my lessons with Italian men repeatedly – and when I was asked out, I said no thank you, I am tired tonight. Next evening I repeated the sentence, but finally gave in – Ok, we may go to eat – if you meet me there and there. I had planned my escape, in case he got over powering. This was my first mistake: I should have said no. I am generally against holiday romances and I was going home the next day after our dinner, so it was only thing it was going to be. But my naive side hoped that we could meet as friends.

An hour before I saw a movie going in a local movie theater and felt sorry that I could not go to see, because I had promised to go out to eat with him. If I’d been wise, I’d just gone there and but my phone off. But I did not and that was my second mistake.

The third one was, when I entered his car. I had wisely decided in advance not to let him drive me anywhere, because that would give him power of our destination. I had decided we would dine there, where I knew how to get back to my hotel. Foolishly I did not follow my own good advice: Don’t enter in his car. On top of that I let him drew me to a place, where I’ve never been before.

Unfortunately the evening ended with me saying No – and him not understanding me. Yet I am happy the evening did not end even worst, as I was for a while afraid of. Still some things he said made me feel sorry for myself for some time.

2 Responses

  1. Greetings and a happy new year to you!

    I chanced at your blog after a Google search and it seems nice enough! You have an interesting story.

    With regards to your post: Sorry you had a tough time. Perhaps there’s more to the situations than you wrote, but it doesn’t sound like you did anything wrong to feel bad about. It’s good keep some naivete alive in you 🙂

  2. Thanks and happy new year to you too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

